Wowings  

Go Back   Wowings > Main Category > Main Forum

Old 11-19-2009, 03:36 PM
LVsloper

Default New S-15 Build - Las Vegas Style

Hello all, I am new to the Skua world and looking forward to slope/ds my new S-15. I had to get one after seeing Seeker turning laps at Lake Mead jetty in the 105-130mph range. I really enjoyed seeking it on the slope, talk about energy retention and banging turns. My only DS experience has been mainly with a JW60, turned 105 mph at the Jetty. I have had some better laps in the mountains just outside of Las Vegas, no radar gun at the time. I don't have the extra $800-$1300 for a radar gun, instead I paid $50 for a Eagletree Systems V3 airspeed system. I do venture out into some remote locations and sometimes its hard to get someone to climb up some of the mountains with radar gun. Well, here are some of my build picks for a Las Vegas/Desert Skua. The planes in Las Vegas need to be extra tough since landing is usually a "controlled crash" into Desert Lava rock or gravel roads. Start by adding extra cross hatch fiber tape, ultra coat covering and "thinned out goop". Enjoy, Mike
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_1757.jpg (95.9 KB, 4 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_1732.jpg (93.7 KB, 4 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_1752.jpg (95.0 KB, 3 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_1781.jpg (94.5 KB, 4 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_1807.jpg (99.1 KB, 4 views)
Old 11-19-2009, 03:43 PM
LVsloper

Default One More Pick -ready to fly

Here is one last pick or two, trimmed and ready to fly. The all up flying weight with the extra taping and goop coating had the Skua at 47 oz... Best, Mike
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_1809.jpg (95.8 KB, 4 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_1810.jpg (95.9 KB, 4 views)
Old 11-24-2009, 03:52 PM
LVsloper

Default S-15 Does 160 MPH - measured airspeed